Epilepsy masterclass

We know that you may have questions to help build your comfort and familiarity with prescribing XCOPRI.

XCOPRI masterclasses provides an opportunity to learn from and engage with a nationally recognized expert in epilepsy. Each class will highlight key attributes of our clinical profile, as well as a Key Opinion Leader’s personal experience with XCOPRI.

At the end of each class, you will be able to personally participate in the “ask the master” session, in which you can interact directly with the featured Master and gain insights to inform clinical decision-making for your patients.

We welcome you to XCOPRI masterclass.

AVAILABLE COURSES:

Orange Calendar Icon

When to Consider XCOPRI:
How Earlier Use May Benefit Your Patients

July 17, 2024
1PM ET/12PM CT/10AM PT

XCOPRI Red Tablet Icon

Real-World Results with XCOPRI:
Best Practices from Patient Case Studies

August 15, 2024
6PM ET/5PM CT/3PM PT

Orange XCOPRI Patient Icon

Drug Load Reduction with XCOPRI

September 19, 2024
12PM ET/11AM CT/9AM PT

Register for masterclass and learn more about upcoming courses

Expand

INDICATION

XCOPRI® (cenobamate tablets) CV is indicated for the treatment of partial‑onset seizures in adult patients.

Important Safety Information
and indication

CONTRAINDICATIONS
XCOPRI® is contraindicated in any patients with known hypersensitivity to the compound or any of the components of the drug product.
XCOPRI is contraindicated in patients with Familial Short QT syndrome.

Close IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION

IMPORTANT SAFETY INFORMATION and INDICATION for XCOPRI® (cenobamate tablets) CV

CONTRAINDICATIONS

XCOPRI is contraindicated in any patients with known hypersensitivity to the compound or any of the components of the drug product.

XCOPRI is contraindicated in patients with Familial Short QT syndrome.

WARNINGS AND PRECAUTIONS

Drug Reaction with Eosinophilia and Systemic Symptoms (DRESS): Also known as Multiorgan hypersensitivity, has been reported in patients taking antiepileptic drugs, including XCOPRI. DRESS has been reported, including one fatality, when XCOPRI is titrated rapidly (weekly or faster titration). No cases of DRESS were reported in an open-label safety study of 1339 partial-onset seizure patients when XCOPRI was initiated at 12.5 mg/day and titrated every two weeks. This finding does not establish that the risk of DRESS is prevented by a slower titration; however, XCOPRI should be initiated at 12.5 mg once daily and titrated every two weeks. DRESS typically, although not exclusively, presents with fever, rash, and/or lymphadenopathy, in association with other organ system involvement. Eosinophilia is often present. If such signs or symptoms are present, the patient should be evaluated immediately. XCOPRI should be discontinued immediately and not restarted if an alternative etiology for the signs or symptoms cannot be established.

QT Shortening: XCOPRI can cause shortening of the QT interval. Caution should be used when administering XCOPRI and other drugs that shorten the QT interval as there may be a synergistic effect on the QT interval that would increase the QT shortening risk.

Suicidal Behavior and Ideation: Antiepileptic drugs (AEDs), including XCOPRI, increase the risk of suicidal thoughts or behavior in patients taking these drugs for any indication. Patients treated with any AED for any indication should be monitored for the emergence or worsening of depression, suicidal thoughts or behavior, and/or any unusual changes in mood or behavior. Advise patients, their caregivers, and/or families to be alert for these behavioral changes and report them immediately to a healthcare provider.

Neurological Adverse Reactions: XCOPRI causes dose-dependent increases in the neurologic adverse reactions including, dizziness, diplopia, disturbance in gait and coordination, somnolence, and fatigue.

Prescribers should advise patients against engaging in hazardous activities requiring mental alertness, such as operating motor vehicles or dangerous machinery, until the effect of XCOPRI is known.

Withdrawal of AEDs: As with all antiepileptic drugs, XCOPRI should generally be withdrawn gradually because of the risk of increased seizure frequency and status epilepticus. But if withdrawal is needed because of a serious adverse event, rapid discontinuation can be considered.

MOST COMMON ADVERSE REACTIONS

In adult adjunctive therapy placebo-controlled clinical studies, the most common adverse reactions that occurred in XCOPRI-treated patients (incidence at least 10% and greater than placebo) were somnolence, dizziness, fatigue, diplopia, headache.

DOSING CONSIDERATIONS

Dosage adjustment of XCOPRI or other concomitant medications may be necessary.

  • Consider gradually reducing phenytoin dosages by up to 50% during initial titration.
  • Consider reducing dosages of phenobarbital and clobazam as needed when used concomitantly with XCOPRI. When XCOPRI and carbamazepine or lamotrigine are taken concomitantly, consider increasing dosages as needed of carbamazepine or lamotrigine.
  • Consider increasing dosages as needed of drugs which are CYP2B6 and CYP3A substrates and decreasing dosages as needed of drugs which are CYP2C19 substrates.
  • Effectiveness of hormonal oral contraceptives may be reduced when administered concomitantly with XCOPRI. Women should use additional or alternative non-hormonal birth control.

Dosage reduction of XCOPRI may be considered in patients with mild to moderate and severe renal impairment. XCOPRI use is not recommended in end‑stage renal disease.

The maximum recommended daily dose is 200 mg for patients with mild or moderate hepatic impairment. XCOPRI use is not recommended in patients with severe hepatic impairment

DRUG ABUSE

XCOPRI is a Schedule V controlled substance.

INDICATION

XCOPRI is indicated for the treatment of partial-onset seizures in adult patients.